Tibetan Information Office (TIO) is based in Canberra.

Speaker Khenpo Sonam Tenphel and DIIR Kalon Norzin Dolma Congratulates New Co-Chair for Australian Parliamentary Group for Tibet, Senator Barbara Pocock

Representative Karma Singey with Senator Barbara Pocock, New Co-Chair of AAPGT.

Canberra: Representative Karma Singey of the Tibet Information Office, Canberra, met Australian Green’s Senator Barbara Pocock at the Parliament House yesterday and delivered her Speaker Khenpo Sonam Tenphel of Tibetan Parliament–in–Exile and Kalon (Minister) Norzin Dolma of the Department of Information and International Relation’s congratulatory messages on her assuming as the new Co-Chair of the Australian All Party Parliamentary Group for Tibet (AAPGT).  Representative Karma Singey was accompanied by Dr Zoe Bedford, Executive Officer of Australia Tibet Council.

Speaker Khenpo Sonam Tenphel has, in his message, said, “On behalf of the 17th Tibetan Parliament in Exile, I extend my warmest congratulations to you on your assumption as the new Co-Chair of the Australian All Party Parliamentary Group for Tibet. You were awarded Member of the Order of Australia (AM) in 2010 for your services to social justice, and your dedication to climate change, LGBTQ rights, refugee rights, and anti-nuclear policies resonate with the just cause of Tibet and Tibetans.”

Kalon Norzin Dolma wrote, “Your appointment as Co-Chair of AAPGT is a testament to your unwavering commitment to human rights and dedication to amplifying the voices of those who are oppressed and marginalized. As a Representative of the Tibetan people, I want to express my deep appreciation for your willingness to champion the rights and freedom of the Tibetan people.”

During the meeting, Representative Karma Singey took the opportunity to present a brief introduction of the Central Tibetan Administration and an overview of his role and responsibilities as a Representative. He also briefed Senator Barbara and her staffers about some of the important upcoming events, including the visit by a Tibetan Parliamentary delegation in August 2024.