Tibetan Information Office (TIO) is based in Canberra.

Map of Tibet


Tibet has three provinces:

  1. Amdo (now split by China into the provinces of Qinghai, Gansu & Sichuan),
  2. Kham (largely incorporated into the Chinese provinces of Sichuan, Yunnan and Qinghai), and
  3. U-Tsang (which, together with western Kham, is today referred to by China as the Tibet Autonomous Region)
TIO is an official agency of Central Tibetan Administration