Tibetan Information Office (TIO) is based in Canberra.

Lobsang Sangay to succeed Samdhong Rinpoche as the next Tibetan PM

Dharamsala, April 27 – Lobsang Sangay, a research fellow at the Harvard Law School, will be the next Kalon Tripa of the Tibetan government in exile. The Election Commissioner Jampal Chosang today announced Lobsang’s victory in the polls held on March 20, 2011.

Lobsang secured 27051 votes out of 49189 votes cast leading next contenders Tethong Tenzin Namgyal and Tashi Wangdi by 8646 votes and 23878 votes respectively.

The Election Commissioner also announced the results of the polls for 15th Tibetan Parliament in exile.